Sailor Neptune Cosplay Review: Mccalls M6030 Pattern

My favorite Sailor Moon character has been Sailor Moon herself and Sailor Neptune 2nd the soldier of the seas! In the 90’s show and modern day remake,I absolutely adore her style and transformation sequences often wishing at just 12 years old I could be just as refined! Well…that didn’t happen and now at 27 I am still not as elegant of this outer planet scout but I can hope and I can dream and I’m making those dreams realized through cosplay! 

To make this costume I used the following items

  • Satin & voile fabric
  • Mccalls M6030 sewing pattern 
  • Brother sewing machine
  • Brother serger 1034D this is my baby!

While I’m still not brave enough to sew a sailor fuku just yet! I’ve decided that I was still going to Cosplay as Neptune but in her princess dress instead! To do so I enlisted the help of Mccalls M6030 “create it” pattern!

I used satin fabric to create this dress because I know that Satin is what sailor Neptune deserved and in reality, this is probably the material Naoko Takeuchi imagined when she came up with the design (At least I hope it was because this satin was absolutely gorgeous) 

Using this pattern was fairly straight forward but the bodice was the 2nd time in all my years of sewing that I had to make an inner corset piece with boning (I used featherlight boning) and truth be told I was so nervous about how it would look! but I pulled through it! I even took a moment to add some rhinestone buttons and make a train! 

While not apart of the pattern the train was absolutely gorgeous but hard to make! I used satin and voile for this project (Voile being another 1st) ruffling this fabric wasn’t simple whatsoever and I had the thread snap on me 3 times before I could get it to drape the way sailor Neptune would wear it. 

This pattern is absolutely versatile and I am sure that it could be used to make other Sailor Senshi dresses as well! 

Published by kiasangria

A NY cosplayer & fashionista sharing cosplay and styling tips Kiasangria93@gmail.com

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started