6 Tips For Creating Cosplay Content @ Home

We have all been home for the past 9-months. It looks like we’re on track to be at home well into 2021. During this, I have spent a lot of time creating content for my social platforms at home in various ways. While it’s not a requirement that you have learned anything new while on quarantine. I have and, I’m going to share with you how I have elevated my picture game as a Cosplayer. 

Let me start by saying that I am not a pro by any means at any of this. I’m just a small cosplayer doing the cosplay gods work and sharing what I know. 

Here are 6 things to help you start creating better cosplay content at home.

  1. Invest in lighting equipment (Doesn’t have to break the bank)

The type of camera or photo you use isn’t more important than the type of lighting you have available. There are so many affordable options on the internet too. I have used ring lights and umbrella lights to snap my pictures all for under $100. Both work wonders for elevating my makeup and cosplay looks. I have found love and light with Neewer lighting products which can be found at Neewer.com or Amazon.com.

2. Make use of the smartphone (It’s SMART for a reason)

While I own a Nikon DSLR I have found that it is far easier for me to create using my S10 Samsung phone. My pictures come out clear enough for Instagram and for my blog which, you’re currently reading! I’ll let you in on a secret I also use my phone to record my youtube videos. 

3. Backdrops are your FRIEND

Backdrops can be as simple as curtains from your local home goods store, or a nicely ironed bedsheet. I’m a fan of seamless paper but have utilized all of these methods to snap a few photos of costumes I’ve made. My biggest suggestion is to go for neutral colors that you can use for any costume.  

4. Use a character mood board

This is optional but, whenever I cosplay I try to make sure my poses are natural for the character. This doesn’t have to be hard you can make a mood board on your phone by saving a ton of images from google or referring to the anime, show, or comic book the character comes from. 

5. Have the intentions 

I have many times tried to get dressed up in a costume and take pictures without actually having true motivation. Do you know what the result was? A failed shoot with stray hairs on my wig, makeup not correctly applied, and a costume that should have been ironed but wasn’t. My point is if you don’t have the mojo to create the content..don’t even try. You won’t be happy with it yourself and for sure won’t feel proud to post that content. 

6. Have FUN (Really)

Whatever type of content you create its going to be amazing because you created it. Don’t worry about if its not the best at this moment. Each shoot is an opportunity for you to make better content. 

Published by kiasangria

A NY cosplayer & fashionista sharing cosplay and styling tips Kiasangria93@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “6 Tips For Creating Cosplay Content @ Home

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started