Corset Sewing Tips For Beginners Simplicity 5006

I recently tried my hand at making another corset for my recent Elizabeth Bioshock cosplay! Since this is the 2nd time I’ve made a corset I wanted to share some tips with you guys on what to know and expect when doing this.

  1. Shop around for patterns!
    I know a lot of people aren’t fans of patterns or they don’t know how to use them but I do encourage you to try when making your first. I used simplicity 5006 and my brother CE7070PRW to make this corset for Elizabeth but here are some other patterns that might suit your needs!

2. Size down!
Your corset needs to be smaller than your actual body. The purpose of a corset is to cinch your waist and flatter your curves. When I was making this I made sure to size down from a size 14 to a size 10 to ensure negative ease and that my corset would be snug when laced up.

3. Corset making for cosplay doesn’t need to be costly!
For this corset, I used cable ties as boning but you can also use feather light boning which is a type of boning that you can sew through! For fabric, you can use just about anything that fits the character you’re trying to become.

4. Make a mockup
I hate doing this… its worth it so you don’t ruin your fashion fabric. There have been many times I have made cosplays that didn’t come out as great as they could have been if I had just made a practice version of it. The good thing about mockups for corsets is so you can use cotton to get the fit right! I made a mock-up for this corset and found that the fit was so perfect I decided to use it as the lining for the main piece!

5. Don’t rush!
This corset took me 8 hours to make as in.. 8 hours over a few days because I had to focus when making this piece. If you’re careful and take time to do everything carefully your piece will come out beautifully!

Have any more questions about the making of this corset? let me know below!

Published by kiasangria

A NY cosplayer & fashionista sharing cosplay and styling tips Kiasangria93@gmail.com

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started